Raising Will

Stand in the way…

3 Comments

The miracle of life is extraordinary.  Click your fingers and life is started; click them again and life is ended; click a third time and life is returned.

It is the thought that haunts every mother’s mind. As you walk in to check on your little one before you go to bed, no matter what sort of day it’s been, there is always a worry you will look into that cot and something will not be right.

So what would you do if you found yourself in this situation? What would you do if your baby wasn’t breathing? How would you call an ambulance if you were home alone with your child? Do you know CPR? What about outside the cot…. What would you do if you walked out of the toilet to find your baby bleeding heavily or unconscious? It’s certainly not something anyone wants to think about, but you need too. To be unprepared when an emergency strikes could see your family or friends go through a horror no one wants to imagine.

So Be Prepared! Take a first aid course. Take a CPR course. At least watch the DVD that your Maternal & Child Health Nurse surely gave you. Update your first aid kit. Check for dangers around your home. Teach your children to swim. If raising my little William has taught me anything, it’s that a mother will be more prepared than she thinks.

When the moment came (and yes, they will come) that I looked in the cot and something was amiss, all of my brain connections fired at once. One night sitting on the couch, I heard a choking sound and immediately ran to the bassinet where William had been fast asleep. His mouth was full of white liquid and he could not breathe. I picked him up and flustered, patted his back to no avail. This wasn’t working. What now? I laid him head down at 45 degrees and gave him four sharp blows to the back then cleared his mouth of the milky gunk that could have taken away my little man. Cuddling him into me, William’s soft face nuzzled into my chest, dazed but OK. The first aid course I had taken 10 years ago had perhaps saved my son’s life.

After watching a real-life episode of CPR on TV tonight, I am reminded that life can quickly leave the ones we love. Make sure you can be the person that stands in its way.

Will & Mum

First Aid saved my son. Could it save yours?

Author: Michelle @ Raising Will

Loves Mr RW, two sweet boys and ALL the coffee. Sporadic Blogger. Sewing Addict. Perfume wearer. Chocolate eater. Stop the clock, I need a sleep!

3 thoughts on “Stand in the way…

  1. Oh Mish, you’ve freaked me out. Being a trained childcare worker, I have been required to have my first aid & CPR for several years now, and thankfully I have only ever had to use the basics like bandages, slings, ice packs and dealing with bites.
    Knock on wood it stays that way!!
    I am always calm and in control when I have to deal with first aid issues on other peoples children, but in the few circumstances that I’ve had to apply it to my own children I have totally freaked out!! Luckily nothing ever as serious as what you describe but I was reduced to tears when Veruca almost lost an eyeball on some concrete reo metal stuff. Just something I have to overcome.

    You did an amazing job to think quick like that and remember your training. 🙂

    Thank-you for reminding us all how precious life really is.

    Jac xo

    • Thanks for the comment Jac – Sorry to freak you out, but I hope it’s always a timely reminder for all and something I really should review myself. And just to be clear – I never said I was calm and collected when my episode occurred, I think I was hysterical, but still managed to get the job done. With your own kids I think you have permission to be a little bit crazy.

  2. Pingback: A Bumbo, A Bumbo, We All Fall Down! « Raising Will

Leave a Reply

