Raising Will

Mealy Monday!

2 Comments

Organising this weeks family meals…

Something I wanted to share with my readers is the art of meal planning. For those who don’t already take part in this weekly or even fortnightly (or monthly!) past-time, I cannot stress how much time & money it saves. Now coupled with the luxury of online shopping, Mums can ensure they provide their family with nutritious home-cooked meals, all within a budget (something I used to have a lot of trouble with)!

A while ago whilst I was drooling through a kikki.k store in Melbourne, my hubby saw a Meal Planner Pad and quickly exclaimed “If there was something you were gonna buy today – this would be it!” And buy I did. When we got home I stuck a heap of self adhesive magnet strip all over the back and it, to this day, is stuck on our fridge. I use it to plan my weekly menu and from that (plus a trip around the house) I would make a grocery list and head off to the shops. This all worked a treat and then along came baby.

In Will’s first few months, my meal planning fell in a heap along with my fitness regime, sleeping patterns and personal hygiene. In the last month a few factors have encouraged me to get back on the meal planning horse. Will is starting solids gradually, we are saving for a holiday to Tassie in April and my Maternity Leave payments have ceased. When at the supermarket, not only was I haunted by expensive ready-meals and mental blanks on what else we could have for tea, but we’d get to the checkout and I was spending WAAAYYY over our budget. What do you do? You can hardly stand there at the checkout and say “Oh hang-on. I’m just gonna have to run half of this back to the shelves…!”

Re-enter Operation Meal Plan (OMP).

So I started OMP again and shopping became a lot simpler, even if we did have to lug a baby around the supermarket. However we were still not on budget and often came home from the supermarket with items we didn’t need (stupid impulse purchasing). That’s when I found Online Shopping. I signed up to Coles Online (Woolworths has a site too) and the last three weeks I have had my groceries delivered to my door. All exactly what I needed, without the fuss and most importantly, in budget (clicking a ‘minus’ symbol is a lot easier than sending groceries back to the shelves). No longer am I tempted to throw that extra pack of Caramel Crowns in the trolley, and if I do (yes – I have the willpower of a butterfly) then I can only keep it if the end grocery total is under our budget figure. So to finish up (and I’ll share each week), I present to you our family’s menu for this week:

  • M: Peri Peri Chicken & Salad
  • T: Spaghetti & Meatballs
  • W: Beef Stroganoff
  • T: Stop…. Freezer Time! (delving into the left-overs)
  • F: Oven Baked Fish & Chips
  • S: Roasted Vegetable Tagine **new recipe**
  • S: Chicken Schnitzel Burgers & Chips

I aim to try a new recipe each week so I can whittle down the mountains of recipes I’ve collected over the years.

So OMP continues for yet another week. Why not try it yourself – being a little organised never hurt anyone.

Menu Planner

My Kikki.K Menu Planner for this week

Author: Michelle @ Raising Will

Loves Mr RW, two sweet boys and ALL the coffee. Sporadic Blogger. Sewing Addict. Perfume wearer. Chocolate eater. Stop the clock, I need a sleep!

2 thoughts on “Mealy Monday!

  1. This is great Mish. We use to do it and I agree it saves so much time and money. I was just saying to David on Saturday after our very expensive grocery shop, with a lot of random buys, that we have to start meal planning again. Also looking into the online groceries. Would be so much easier.

    • Thanks Karen. Online groceries is not only great for keeping in budget, it is fantastic when you have a little one. The amount of time it takes for me to shop for groceries is how long it takes to get Will in and out of the car! Give it a go, you won’t regret it 🙂

Leave a Reply

