Raising Will

TV Schmevee… I dare you!

8 Comments

Yesterday I divulged about my compulsion to shop. Now it’s time to come clean about my second addiction… Telly. How very sad. I wish I could say that my addiction involved something truly exciting like base jumping or roller derby, but alas no. My addiction is to fake doctors, fake detectives and deliciously handsome brothers who are staving off the Apocalypse. I was contemplating the meaning of life whilst lying in bed last night and had an epiphany. I waste close to 6 of my waking hours watching people live fake lives, whilst I could be living my own. That’s 1/4 of every day! Unbelievable! 

As I notice Will watching the TV, I feel guilty. TV’s not good for babies/children they say. So why is it OK for me to be so absorbed? Well, it’s NOT! The amount of times I’ve exclaimed to myself “I just don’t have enough time!” when I’ve sat down to watch re-runs of Greys Anatomy that morning – well, let’s not even begin to count. So I’m giving myself a challenge! No TV for a week! OMG! I’m freaking out already….. How on earth am I going to manage this feat!?

When it’s all said and done though, I’m already looking forward to actually having dinner at the table. Who knows, maybe we might talk to each other about our actual lives! I can spend more time rolling on the floor with my gorgeous son. I might have dinner cooked at a reasonable hour, and speaking of hours, I might actually get to bed at a decent one too!

Maybe I can take Will to the pool. Maybe I can go for a walk. Maybe I can finally list those things on eBay that have been sitting on my table for the last fortnight. Maybe I can trim the bushes crowding our driveway.

So I’m going to do it! Whether it has to be for the day only (whilst hubby’s at work) or the whole shibang (no telly 24/7) – I am going to live my life this week and not even the Winchester Boys are gonna stop me!

Ohhhh…. you thought that was the end did you!? Nope…. You’re going to do it too! Yes, YOU! Live your life without TV for a week and see what you can achieve. And don’t forget to share your results… Good luck on your journey!

Now where am I going to stash the remotes?….

P.S. Discussed with the hubby – and 24/7 it is!  N.O. T.E.L.L.Y!

 

No Telly!

No Telly for a week! Can you take the challenge?

Author: Michelle @ Raising Will

Loves Mr RW, two sweet boys and ALL the coffee. Sporadic Blogger. Sewing Addict. Perfume wearer. Chocolate eater. Stop the clock, I need a sleep!

8 thoughts on “TV Schmevee… I dare you!

  1. I already give up greys is on tonight 🙂

  2. Remember when I told you guys that the telly was broken.. I beleive you were in year 6 and your teacher was Mr Gleeson.. It stayed broken for about 6 months….. Your teacher thought I was very brave… actually he was my year 6 teacher….

    I do know that when we came over to Beechworth and didn’t have telly you three actually played togetehr instead of fighting…. more quality time… good luck..

    It is amazing what you can accomplish without the box… you need to get a hobby….

  3. I too have a confession to make. I have no idea how to turn our TV on… This fact has been a bit of entertainment among my friends for a while, until my husband showed me how to turn it on… but it has been a while and I have managed to forget how to do it again!

    To support you though I am going to reduce the amount of time I spend on FB 🙂

  4. I’m with you, no tv for a week! Its amazing how quickly lil kids (& big kids for that matter) get sucked into tv, and i feel really guilty as my tv is huge so ruby can’t help but stare at it in awe & fascination when it’s on! TV IS BAD MMMKAY! Less tv more life!

Leave a Reply

