Raising Will

A letter to my son…

Leave a comment

Well Baby Will, you certainly have all the power in this relationship.

Only seven months old and you have the authority to direct my day as you please whilst I’m forever focused on your tiredness and your hunger; the power to stop me in my tracks when you stir as I creep in to check on you whilst you dream; the power to make me run like Makybe Diva on the home stretch when I hear you cry, but not just any cry, that cry that lets me know something’s wrong.

Then just as I begin to think I’ve made some ground and start to enjoy sleeping through the night again, it is you who decides that my rest must be cut short, not once, but TWICE a night. I climb out of bed, put finger prints all over my glasses and my slippers on the wrong feet to serve your need.

My world is absorbed into yours and I wonder. When you squirm I wonder what’s got you in a twist. When you babble at a tree I wonder what you’re saying. When you smile as you dream I wonder if you are thinking of me or your chewing keys.

Your world is magical to me. How one baby can achieve so much is unbelievable. And I follow your lead gladly. Because you are my son. And you are amazing. 

Cuddles in the Park

From a mother to her son...

Author: Michelle @ Raising Will

Loves Mr RW, two sweet boys and ALL the coffee. Sporadic Blogger. Sewing Addict. Perfume wearer. Chocolate eater. Stop the clock, I need a sleep!

Leave a Reply

