Raising Will

No Telly!

My old friend, Mr Remote!

Leave a comment

Well one week has passed since our family’s dive into the ancient realms of no TV – Raising Will’s NO TV Challenge!

And much to my surprise, the world did not end, nor did my life. In fact, there has been one word for this week – FANTASTIC!

The first day, I found myself going to pick up the remotes (which weren’t there because my husband had hidden them) not because I particularly wanted to watch anything, but just out of habit; if I sat on the couch, the telly went on. That was just how it was. During this week, I had to find something else to occupy my time and I think my house and family did quite well out of this fact.

The house was tidied, the vacuuming got done, our washing pile is somewhat smaller than it usually is, the bushes at the side of my house got trimmed, the massive vanity cupboard in the bathroom got organised, the box of glassware that sat at the back of the kitchen cupboards for close to seven years got pulled out and wrapped up to take to the salvos, I spoke to my husband on several occasions (hee hee), my magazines got cleaned out, I made a recipe folder, I played with Will more than ever, our family went to the Park on the weekend – not once, but TWICE! I made up lots of baby food, we ate dinner at the table, I got into bed at a reasonable hour, I had time to connect with friends and other bloggers online, I went shopping (of course), I printed and mailed photos of Will to the relos… So many things in only one week – WOW!

Now that the telly is back on tonight, I find myself wishing it wasn’t. The NO TV Challenge has broken my addiction to the box and all its fakeness. I guess I’ll still watch some of my evening favourites, but only because I want too not because I HAVE too.

Hello Real Life, welcome back. Sorry I’ve been neglecting you for as long as I have… 

The return of the remotes!

The return of the remotes!

Author: Michelle @ Raising Will

Loves Mr RW, two sweet boys and ALL the coffee. Sporadic Blogger. Sewing Addict. Perfume wearer. Chocolate eater. Stop the clock, I need a sleep!

Leave a Reply

