Raising Will

The importance of friendship: why my mother’s group is so damn fantastic!

1 Comment

When my maternal child health nurse called and said that I was booked into a Mother’s Group I was a little bit scared. I’m normally a pretty confident person in group situations, but for some reason the idea of spending two hours with other mums that I’d never met before, terrified me. I guess it was a fear that these women would have no choice but to see this terrible mother in all her glory. Will (at that time) was drinking from a bottle not breast; Will wasn’t self-settling, I had to rock him to sleep every time; he had the worst nappy rash that would never go away; I hadn’t had a shower; Will was tiny; every little worry I had, compounded into a giant ball of insecurity, all because I was expecting to walk into a room full of judgement and as a new mum, that was definitely not the place I wanted to be.

I walked into the room and I was the second or third one there. Then, I was pleasantly surprised to see a mum that I knew from my pre-natal yoga class turn up! GREAT! I knew someone! As more mummies arrived and we began to discuss our babies, a wave of relief washed over me. All of these mummies were having exactly the same problems as I was. That ‘room of judgement’ didn’t exist – there was certainly no judgement here. It was like I’d walked into my own private diary that I could confess all my naughty mothering secrets too. I could lament at my lack of knowledge about all things baby. I could ask the questions that I was too scared to ask anyone else. This was fantastic.

 

Heading to Mother's Group...

Heading to Mother's Group...

I began to look forward to catching up with the girls and babies every week. It was like a drug habit that I couldn’t shake. These women made me feel fantastically normal and I had all-of-a-sudden made some life-long friends as I’m sure many of our group have. We started meeting in parks, at mummies’ houses, at cafes/bistros for lunch; actually making time to get out of the house for our weekly therapy. Looking back I don’t know what I would’ve done without the support of my Mother’s Group and I still don’t know what I’d do if they dropped off the face of the earth (lucky the chances of that happening are pretty slim).

New Mummy Buddies: Georgina & Liv having fun in the sun

New Mummy Buddies: Georgina & Liv having fun in the sun

And it’s not only the mummies that benefit. At only eight months old, Will now has his own little entourage of friends. It’s so wonderful to see him interacting with other kidlets, not to mention all the immunities he builds by trying to abduct stolen toys in his mouth. I wonder when he’ll begin to realise that a toy truck won’t fit in his little gob, especially now there are teeth in there.

So, here’s to Mother’s Group! I’m sure it’s the saviour to many-a mummy’s sanity.

And a big, ridiculous hug to all my yummy mummy buddies. I would be a floundering mess without you. xxx

Will and his mate Mason chilling out together

Mother's Group isn't just for mums: Will and his mate Mason chilling out together

Author: Michelle @ Raising Will

Loves Mr RW, two sweet boys and ALL the coffee. Sporadic Blogger. Sewing Addict. Perfume wearer. Chocolate eater. Stop the clock, I need a sleep!

One thought on “The importance of friendship: why my mother’s group is so damn fantastic!

  1. Excellent Post Mish, I couldn’t agree more.
    My mum’s group really saved me, not only once or twice but the wonderful ladies I met are still there for me now, 7 years later.
    Whether it be advice, a suggestion, some help organising, a lift to the dinners we have, watching the kids, you name it, we all look after each other.
    They really are and will be life-long friends. They love me for me, they love my kids for who they are and I would be lost without them.
    I too was scared, especially walking into my first session with 2 babies, and having heard the horror stories about the competition between mothers etc… I was pleasently surprised! 🙂

Leave a Reply

